30 Before 30

Singing Is Good for My Soul

My mother told me once that she knows I am happy when she hears me hum or sing around the house. It is a tell for me, if I am singing that means I am happy. While I teach choir every day, I am often not singing and not challenged vocally at work. I have been singing in community choirs for many years now, but haven’t taken the jump to join a semi-professional group. There are many of these in America, but LA is home to two large ensembles, Los Angeles Master Chorale and Pacific Chorale. I have been too chicken to audition, because I didn’t want to get rejected. My better half wouldn’t let another season go by without me auditioning, so I finally did it. My audition wasn’t very good, many tears latter, I didn’t tell many people I auditioned. But surprise! I got in! Now I am singing for Pacific Chorale. It is a lot of work (I signed up to sing in almost every concert), and I am more tired because of my time spent at PC. However, it is worth it. I get to sing for great conductors, learn/re-learn great music and sing for 1000’s of people.

pacific-symphony-orchestra-tickets.jpg.870x570_q70_crop-smart_upscale

Thank you mom and dad for encouraging me to sing. Kelley, thanks for putting up with my harmonies at church. All my teachers, thank you for giving me the skills and knowledge. Ayesha, Cassandra and Lindy, thanks for all the support and encouragement. Because of all of you, I have this source of joy, happiness and strength in my life. Thank you!

2 comments on “Singing Is Good for My Soul

  1. Katie Ellis
    November 19, 2015

    Congrats Caitlin! (I stumbled on your blog while trying to find your mailing address.) Let us know when we can come to a concert!

    Like

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on November 18, 2015 by in Caitlin, Recap and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other subscribers